Lahore clinch last-over thriller against Multan

At the Multan Cricket Stadium, the eighth season of the Pakistan Super League got off to a glittering start.

In addition to the Supernova Trophy, the winner will receive Rs120 million, while the runners-up will receive Rs48 million.

Multan is led by Mohammad Rizwan, and Qalandars, the defending champions, are led by Shaheen Afridi.

During his team’s opening match against Multan Sultans in Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 on Monday at the Multan Cricket Stadium, opener Fakhar Zaman picked up where he left off last year.

In 42 balls, Fakhar scored 66 runs, including five sixes and three boundaries.

Fakhar Zaman Half-Century – PSL

The left-handed batter took some time to settle down because the power play was hard for him. However, he was fortunate because the top edge twice crossed the rope.

Fakhar became the second player since Babar Azam to score 2000 runs in the PSL with his magnificent performance on Monday.

Mirza Tahir Baig, a young first-inning batter, scored 36 runs in 26 balls before being thrown out by Akeal Hossain.

Shai Hope, wicketkeeper, also scored 19 runs in 17 balls.

Hussain Talat (20) and all-rounder Sikandar Raza (19) added 39 runs for the fifth wicket.

Usama and Ihsanullah each took two wickets for the Multan Sultans, and Akeal got one scalp.

Rizwan and Masood, the Sultans’ openers, put the team in command with a 100-run partnership for the first wicket.

The two batters stayed at the crease for a long time and did not allow the Qalandar bowlers to take advantage of them.

However, Hussain Talat provided the Qalandars with their final breakthrough, sending Masood back to the pavilion after scoring 35 runs in 31 balls.

After Rizwan had scored 75 runs in 50 balls, Qalandars skipper Shaheen Shah Afridi bowled him, bringing the home team’s score to 131-2.

Image Credit : PSL

David Miller was bowled out by Rauf, who hit a fiery yorker to get rid of the left-handed batter after he scored 25 runs.

Shaheen gave Zaman Khan the ball because the team needed 15 runs in the final over.

Kieron Pollard, a hard-hitting player, was sent packing after attempting to run for two runs but failing to reach the crease in time.

Zaman threw the third pitch, a quick full toss, and it hit Usman Khan’s tough pad, causing the batter to be ruled out for the game.

Sultans missed the target by two runs, but Khushdil scored consecutive boundaries with the final two balls.

Playing 11

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Tahir Baig, Kamran Ghulam, Shai Hope, Sikandar Raza, Hussain Talat, Liam Dawson, David Wiese, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Multan Sultans: Muhammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, David Miller, Kieron Pollard, Khushdil Shah, Usman Khan, Usama Mir, Akeal Hossain, Sameen Gul, Shahnawaz Dahani, Ihsanullah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *